Styled Engagement: Sleeping Beauty Themed Engagement Shoot

Well now…

If you’re thinking what I’m thinking, you’re thinking that it’s been absolutely WAYYY too long since I’ve blogged. Am I right?

There has been so much to show you all, and I have not the slightest bit of time to show ANY of it to you. This is my issue. However, on this Thursday afternoon, between one class and my designated tutoring time, I MADE time. I’ve recently discovered that this will be the only way I’m going to live life, plan a wedding, and even venture to remain a stylist. However, soon enough, I know I will have more time for this wonderful part of my life.

In the meantime, I’ll begin with this Sleeping Beauty themed engagement shoot that the ever-sweet Sara Lucero recruited me for. It was our first time working together, and she’s just a stinking pleasure. She captured the details and our (very beautiful, might I add) couple perfectly. You’ll see her awesome talent by these photos, because this girl can shoot. She made the shoot fun and comfortable, and I’m looking forward to working on more stuff when we can, girl!!! She also called in my amazing friend Martha for makeup, and she totally pulled it off. Kate is a blonde beauty anyway, so her role as Aurora was meant to be. Martha did a fabulous job enhancing that beauty, getting her camera-ready, and really incorporating what Briar Rose really looked like on-screen. I love you, Fatboy!;) OH- and as for the amazing braid you’ll see in Kate’s hair, my equally amazing friend Ashley is the mastermind behind that. Sara said, “Yea, I’d like to have a braid.” Next thing we know, Kate’s hair is pulled back into the most unique and beautiful braid that was perfect for the shoot. Ash, you rock!

To be honest, I was kind of scared out of my mind to do this shoot. No, really!! The lovely bride, Kate, wanted a Sleeping Beauty themed engagement shoot, and, Sleeping Beauty just happens to be one of my all-time favorite Disney movies. Hence, the intimidation. Kate didn’t want the shoot to be too costume-y or kitschy in any way (DUH- they’re her engagement photos), and for some reason my creative juices just had a hard time flowing.  However, I do think that in the end it all turned out well. I was finally able to pull some inspiration into play and grab some fun stuff, and in the end, Kate was pleased, and really, that’s what matters MOST in this situation.

So, sit back, relax, and enjoy a ride through our modern-day love story of a very sleepy girl:

Much of the shoot was inspired by the berry picking scene when Aurora meets Prince Philip for the first time. I decided to go berry-crazy and just have them everywhere!Ain’t they just cute??

Killer braid, anyone??

True love’s kiss….❤ ❤ ❤

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Engagement, Inspiration, Styled shoots, Styling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. ASHLEY…. you surprised me so much on this shoot. Your work always has such a WOW FACTOR to it. I was expecting greatness from you and you pulled out AMAZINGNESS. So happy to know you!

  2. You Go Girl 🙂 Fav Stylist Ever! These props and details are amazing.
    Never doubt yourself, because you always bring your A Game!! Love you my dear friend!

Leave a comment