Tutorial: DIY Net Birdcage Veil

Well, well, well, hello there!

Gracious I have been painfully absent and lacking in the posting of new and exciting things for SO long that I’m quite ashamed. I’ll definitely post a big update soon, but for now, I wanted to give you something else that I’ve promised from long ago! Summer is coming to an end (although it doesn’t feel like it where I live), so this seems like the appropriate time to provide you with this. Remember this veil?

Well, it was received with such love that I was completely taken aback. I even began receiving inquiries on purchasing said veil. I mean, WOW! So, thanks to your guys’ huge love and sweet comments about my little creation, I figured I’d post a DIY for those of you with a crafty side. It’s actually quite simple, so I hope my tutorial is sufficient. I tried to be as detailed as possible, so if you attempt it, PLEASE leave a comment and let me know how you got on with it! I love doing projects like this, so I’m hoping this is right up the alley of every bride with an ocean themed wedding.

So, without further ado, let’s get on with the fun!

~

Supplies:

(a) Thread – I recommend a darker color, i.e. brown or black, as this will blend better with the netting.

(b) Pearls – Small, and of various shapes and sizes (more detail photos to follow).

(c) Starfish – Again, small guys. These can be found at your local craft store quite easily.

(d) Hot glue gun – I like to use a small one to keep the glue from being too crazy

(e) Net! – Fishing net (for crafts) can be found in small or large sizes at craft stores.

;

;

Now, THIS stuff is pretty important. This is the magical “Stiffen Quik”, which is a fabric stiffener. We’ll come back to this later, but this is quite important! You can find this at a craft or fabric store. I’d recommend checking your local fabric store first.

These aren’t completely necessary, but very handy: curved needle-nose pliers. These babies make this project even easier!

Here are some examples of pearl beads that I used for this. (Penny is for size reference, of course πŸ™‚ )

And one of the little starfish!

Okay, so let’s get started!

You’ll want to cut the net into a rectangle, about 12″ x 18″. This will give you some extra to work with on the edges.

Mine ended up being about 19″, like I said, you just want to be safe and give yourself enough, but this should be plenty.

Along the bottom of your rectangle, (which will be the front that falls over the face) as well as the left and right sides, cut a nice edge in a straight line. I find it’s easier to go from one little “knot” straight over to the next, as it shows. This will leave you with something like this!

Now, here’s where the Stiffen Quik comes in! Once you have your shape cut and nicely tailored, you’ll need to apply one or two coats of this stuff. I recommend this specific brand because it dries in about 1 hour (or less!), whereas other brands will require an overnight dry. This is absolutely essential, because since the netting is naturally so heavy, it won’t fall over the face quite as nicely as your traditional birdcage veil. BUT – if you layer on some Stiffen Quik, the veil will be much more cooperative on the big day!

From here, you go with it and do your embellishing. What I recommend is adding your little embellishments to the small knotted areas with a dab of hot glue.

If you look at the photo below, what I would recommend is focusing mostly on adding the pearl beads. A few along the front edge give it that great bridal feel, then disperse them throughout the rest of the veil.

Once the pearls are added, then you can add one or two starfish where they’ll stand out but not be too distracting, and even a small seashell or two!

Okay, almost done!

The last two things you’ll need to do are thread the veil and add a comb.

Here’s a picture of a standard veil comb. Every store in my area decided to NOT carry these when I went out looking for this tutorial, so unfortunately this will have to suffice…

With this particular veil, I’d recommend threading your veil first, then adding the comb, as I’ll explain in a bit.

20120917-182809.jpg

The photo below is from the Dapper Bun blog. Her post is where I originally found the basic DIY to make your own birdcage veil, and it’s exceptional, so if you’re looking to make a basic birdcage, I’d absolutely recommend her post.

You’ll want to thread your veil just as she shows here (with the exception of the comb).

Again, due to the heavy duty fabric that the net is comprised of, I would recommend threading through each knot on the side of your veil. If you can’t get the needle through the knots, I would thread the string on either side of the knot (photo below). This will keep the veil as sturdy as possible.

20120917-182824.jpg

20120917-191717.jpg

Once your veil is nice and threaded, tighten up the thread and tie a knot.

You may not want to tighten the thread all the way. I would mostly tighten it, then hold the veil up to your head to check how well that shape will work. The net requires a bit of adjusting through this whole process, so try to be patient!

Once the veil has the shape you prefer, tie both ends of the thread together in a tight little knot.

Here’s where you add the comb. I recommend adding the comb to the top of the veil where you will insert the comb into your hair, and sewing it to the net. This will be tricky as well, so be patient.

20120917-191651.jpg

Working with fishing net will definitely require more work than other fishnet veils will, but I can guarantee it will be worth it!

Then, you’re finished! Add a little feather or starfish headpiece to the back if you like, but really make this your own!

Well, I certainly hope that helps all of you who have been curious as to how to make this unique veil. If you have any questions about the instructions or any clarification is needed, please comment and ask below! I’m hoping my instructions were clear enough, but you never can be too safe.

Have fun creating your very own ocean-inspired veil, brides!

Lots of love,

Ash <;3 <;3

Veil comb image from: http://www.albertzoll.com/images/Plastic%20Veil%20Comb.jpg

 

 

 

Posted on January 22, 2013, in DIY, Fashion, Inspiration, Styling, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

