Trend: Honcho poncho

Poncho?! A blog post about ponchos?!

No, I never thought this day would come either…. And yet, I have not only recently purchased a poncho of my own, but am now a firm believer that these odd articles of clothing could be a major fashion staple in your wardrobe!

Ok, so hear me out: ponchos have come a long way in the recent days of accessible fashion, in my opinion. For instance, I purchased my new poncho from Forever 21! They are now available in many places and in a variety of styles and colors. If you still don’t believe me, I’ll defend my case in the following:

It is my belief that ponchos are:

1) Easy to wear

2) A great transitional weather piece (you can wear it pretty much year-round)

3) Fun!

4) Easy to make fashionable

Ponchos are an easy addition to your outfit, or just an easy outfit themselves. Let’s just say you get out of bed and have no clue what to wear. Well then, throw on some jeans, a t-shirt of any color or design (who cares, because it won’t be seen anyway!) and your poncho! They can be accessorized with boots, sandals, flats, ANYTHING. They keep you warm and dry without being too restrictive. They come with hoods, fringe, designs, cowl-necks, and other variations that make them super cute. They’re just an easy item, in my book. It’s like having a great coat for the winter. You could be wearing a killer coat that is so chic that you look great, when in reality, perhaps you’re wearing an incredibly dumpy outfit! Ponchos can be worn with jeans, leggings, skirts, shorts, etc.

If I haven’t convinced you yet, hopefully the following pictures will convince you.

So, here we are: my selection of ponchos to show off to you all. Love them or hate them, all I ask is that you give the poncho a chance. Who knows, maybe it’ll be your next must-have item!

There are great ways to wear them, so what I say is: find the right one for you and rock it.

*Photo sources: Forever 21, Anthropologie, Free People, Handmade Knits, Girldir.Β 
Posted on January 27, 2011, in Fashion, Inspiration, Styling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So, where’s the one America Ferrera wore for Ugly Betty? πŸ˜‰

  2. cool blog and nice post.

Leave a Reply

